Senators Murkowski and Bingaman Honored By GEO Geothermal Champion Awards

The Geothermal Exchange Organization (GEO) presented its “Geothermal Heat Pump Industry Champion” awards to key legislators in Washington, DC. Recipients included Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), ranking Republican on the same committee.

GEO Member Centennial Plastics (Hastings, NE) co-sponsored and prepared the awards, which feature their geothermal ground loop pipe.

“Recipients of GEO’s Geothermal Champion Award understand the potential of our industry and share our commitment to the technology,” said GEO President Doug Dougherty. “They are leaders when it comes to promoting renewable energy and energy efficiency, and we are proud of their efforts to help grow our industry and in the process create new U.S. jobs.”

Senator Jeff Bingaman was honored by GEO for his longstanding support and promotion of renewable energy and energy efficiency initiatives, including his support for the installation tax credits that have kept the industry afloat during the recent economic downturn.

Senator Lisa Murkowski was honored by GEO for her leadership on the Geothermal Exploration and Technology Act, which was approved by the Senate Energy Committee in February. This bipartisan legislation, among other things, directs the U.S. Department of Energy to conduct critical research that will help drive down the cost of installing geothermal heat pumps, making the technology more accessible to homeowners and businesses.