GEO Board Expanded, Utility Dues Slashed

During its meeting on Oct. 1 in Washington, DC, the Geothermal Exchange Organization (GEO) Board of Directors confirmed by unanimous vote that new ClimateMaster President and CEO Richard Aldridge will replace Dan Ellis on the Board. Mr. Aldridge has expressed his strong desire to be an active participant with GEO. The Board then unanimously voted to expand the Board from 7 to 9 members, including Mr. Ellis (Comfortworks) as a Director-at-Large. One GEO Board seat is left open for new company participation. The GEO Board now includes:

  • Chairman – Steve Smith (Enertch Global LLC – Greenville, IL)
  • Vice Chairman – Keith Swilley (Gulf Power / Southern Company – Pensacola, FL)
  • Secretary/Treasurer – Phil Schoen (Geo Enterprises – Catoosa, OK)
  • Member – Richard Aldridge (ClimateMaster, Inc. – Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Member – Tom Huntington (WaterFurnace Renewable Energy – Fort Wayne, IN)
  • Member – Joe Parsons (Earthlinked Technologies – Lakeland, FL)
  • Member – Chris Mays (Emerson Climate Technologies – Sidney, OH)
  • Member – Dan Ellis (Comfortworks – Goldsby, OK)
  • Member – Open Seat

In other action, the Board unanimously voted to lower GEO membership dues for utilities from 5 cents per meter with a $25,000 cap to a stratified dues structure depending on business model. The new dues are $2,500 per year for Investor-Owned Utilities, $1,000 per year for Generation and Trans-mission Cooperatives, $500 per year for Municipal Electric Utilities, and $500 per year for Electric Distribution Cooperatives. The change is meant to foster greater participation with GEO among all types of utility service providers.