Wireing an Aprilaire 700 to Waterfurnace 5

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Sherwoodator, Mar 5, 2015.

1. Sherwoodator

Sherwoodator New Member

I just bought an Aprilaire 700 from Amazon and awaiting its arrival but decided to get ahead and see how to wire this thing. Upon looking at the schematics of my Waterfurnace 5, its not as black and white as a fossil fueled furnace. Anybody know how to wire this thing up the way Aprilaire wants me too? I see the R and C connections for power but the other 3 connections to either the stat or furnace has got me scratching my head. I have the communicating t-stat too. I really want to avoid the fees to get my dealer to come out if I can. I'm an electrician by trade but not too educated on controls. I have included the schematics from my Waterfurnace 5 and the Aprilaire 700. Thanks in advance.
    Capture.PNG 20150305_142816.jpg

2. urthbuoy

urthbuoy Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Typically your thermostat has the humidity reading that dictates whether or not to run the humidifier. So you would need to wire it from the thermostat as per their instructions.

3. Sherwoodator

Sherwoodator New Member

Unfortunately, the thermostat that came with the system does not support the humidifier option per the instruction guide.

4. urthbuoy

Is there a humidistat that then comes with the humidifier? That generally can be considered a SPST type device (you said you were an electrician). So you just wire it inline with the 24V to the humidifier. That 24V can come off the R/C on the unit if you so want it to. Many units have a 24V device connection (for solenoids or such).

5. Sherwoodator

Sherwoodator New Member