When is it time to replace compressor or whole base unit?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Jerry_NJ, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Jerry_NJ

Jerry_NJ Member

I have a two speed Waterfurnace GeoThermal that is approaching 20 years old. It ran without any maintenance other than sir filters for about 15 years, then in the next couple of years I had to replace the three speed forced air fan (for which WF could not produce an exact replacement so I had to pay extra to retro fit a newer unit) at about $1,200. Then a couple of years later I had to replace the two ground loop circulation pumps (this had some misdiagnosis problems - I'm a retired electrical engineer or these errors would have gone unnoticed) at an additional $1,500 or so (I would have to look up the cost is anyone wants to do a financial analysis). Still given the amortized cost of repairs over 20 years is about $120 per year, no more than what an oil furnace tune up cost - I guess - not a big issue.

But, what next, the compressor? As you know the whole unit, other than the loop, is inside the house so a replacement of the compressor doesn't leave me with a rusted housing, the unit look new (to my old eyes at least).

I seek any advice on when one should consider the unit about ready to fail, and the best approach forward, including replacing the complete inside equipment - maybe with a variable speed compressor which I think is a giant step forward in reliability, regardless of the fact my two speed compressor is still running about about 20 years.

It looks like new designs, even two speed, can give me a significant improvement in efficiency. In low speed my unit delivers a COP of about 4.0, a newer design may give me 5.0 or even better, but at what cost?

I think I can not retrofit an upgraded compressor in my existing unit (I can provide the model number is any interest is generated), but if I can that would be another consideration.