What should I expect ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by RonL, Dec 5, 2018 at 4:50 PM.

1. RonL

RonL New Member

I have been running fhp heat pumps open loop, (em031) for 30 years. First one would put out 100 degrees with 58 degree water. And 68 degree air temp input.
    2nd one is now doing 95 heat and 54 cool (78 degree input air temp for cooling)
    I was looking around at other units, as this one will need replacing in the next few years.
    Im only finding units that will do a 20 degree difference between in and out. Thus, my well is going to run more water through, units may be more efficiant, but running my well longer is not a good option. Am I reading these specs incorrectly on these newer geothermal heat pumps ?

2. nc73

nc73 Member

I think 20 is minimum. Mine will do 24 in 1st and 27 in 2nd with 55 degree water. I had one that was leaking brand new out of box, it did 16 to 20. Why haven't you switched to closed loop? I would but getting someone to dig a pond for me is quite tricky.

3. RonL

RonL New Member

Well. They dug my well. Ssid I had 30 gal/min. So I just did a pump and dump. Way cheaper. What brand are you running ?

4. nc73

nc73 Member

Are running 1.5 gpm per ton? Anymore and it's a waste. You could probably save a lot of electricity if you were running small circulation pumps in a closed loop instead. I'm running Miami HP because Climatemaster lost my order after it was built. It's pretty basic, nothing fancy. If you're just doing pump and dump, it would be perfect. Most brands will do over 20.

5. RonL

RonL New Member

I just recieved an email from miami heat pump, where they state only 20 degrees. I was looking at thier 2.5 or 3 ton unit. And the 1.5 is pretty much what I run through my fhp. With the difference in water pressure, it goes from 4.5 - 5.5 gpm.
    I will put in a dole valve to make it a constant number.. but just have been putting that off.

6. nc73

nc73 Member