WF Premier E since 2004

Discussion in 'Geothermal Heat Pump Testimonials' started by CentralVA PremierE, Dec 12, 2011.

1. CentralVA PremierE

CentralVA PremierE New Member

Hey all,

Have had a Premier E series 3 1/2 ton 3 zone system Waterfurnace in my custom home since '04. I was an electrical contractor for 15 years and hooked up a number of WF units in new and retro construction over the years. I was impressed with the performance and the fact that there was no outside unit and they were so quiet. So... when I built my own place I put one in. I had a great mechanical guy put in all the duct work - 90% metal duct with all radius'd joints etc. Done IMO much better than the company I bought the unit from on all the jobs I saw. Supervised the loop installation and it was done properly.

In '04 my fan went bad during the first winter of usage. Bearings failed.

In '05-'06 my compressor began making a lot of noise. Took a while for anybody to figure it out. Then one day there was a Waterfurnace company meeting in VA Bch about 4 Hrs from here. They sent the regional Tech guy and the company VP here to check it out along with the HVAC installer tech guy. Fortunately, while they were here checking it out the compressor disintegrated completely in a rather dramatic rod throwing display. It was replaced under warranty. Shortly thereafter the coil began to leak. Another warranty replacement.

Since then I have had another coil or two replaced, and I am now assuming that I have another one that has gone bad as I can tell by the performance and the sound of the compressor when it is in 2nd stage that it is very low on freon again. My "labor allowance" ran out long ago, so it is now on my dime to have the replacement parts installed each time in addition to the service calls to check and replace lost freon.