Using a pond

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Rob McDaniel, May 4, 2018.

1. Rob McDaniel

Rob McDaniel New Member

Hello
    I’m looking to build on a lot with a pond. It is 160’ diameter and 22’ deep and at least 20’ deep across almost 100’ of the width. I’m still learning and need some advice as to whether this volume of water is enough for a 6 ton system? I may not need that much but I want to over figure and see what is realistic. I’m in the Saint Louis Missouri area.

2. Rob McDaniel

Rob McDaniel New Member

These measurements are actual measurements NOT estimates. I went to the pond and measured carefully with a weight and tape measure for depth.

3. mtrentw

mtrentw Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Here is an extract for some numbers i ran a couple years ago when discussing a 1/4 acre pond at 12 foot depth. Since your pond is closer to 1/2 acre and 20 feet, I'd say your probably gonna be OK. You may get notable ice buildup around the loop so ensure it is well weighted down with nearly a ton of weight or otherwise anchored so you don't float the loop.

Trent
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Just to play with numbers:

Assume it is a ¼ acre. Average depth of twelve feet. That would be a total of 3 Acre Feet of water, or 1 million gallons.

To freeze 32 degree water requires 1,200 BTU per gallon.

To freeze the pond solid requires 1.2 billion BTU, or 100,000 ton-hours. Or 4 ton of continuous cooling for 120 days.

What gets complicated is the heat loss from the surface and heat gain from the earth below.