Total NOOB questions. Please forgive.

Discussion in 'Open Loop' started by Doon1, Aug 14, 2012.

1. Doon1

Doon1 New Member

Hi Guys. Wow there have been very spirited discussions here with some of the DIY'ers. Unlike those folks I did research the SCDEC rules first. Then permited and dug my well to specs. Getting grout down a 20ft piece of pipe with a funnel on top was quite a pain but it worked. The trick was to have my wife beat on the pipe with a rubber mallet while I poured. My well is at 40 feet in 16 feet of water. My primary reason to dig the well was to water my lawn. I'm using an Ace Hardware 1.5 hp pump for that purpose.
    Now on to the Noob portion of this post. I was wondering if it is possible to run the 62F well water through an evaporator and then back down another 40 ft. well dug about 200 ft. from the first one. My home is a 1950 brick home. I've installed double paned thermal windows, thermal doors, R30 ceiling insulation, and R15 floor insulation. So it's pretty well insulated. My A/C unit is a 4 ton gas pack package unit. I take the top off over year to clean the evap and tray. there's room for in it for me to put another evap in it to test it with water but I thought I'd check with you guys to see if that would be a wasted effort.
    BTW I'm an automotive mechanic and teacher so it's ok if you get technical. Let's try to keep it light on the physics though.
    thanks for you time in advanced.
    John

2. Calladrilling

Calladrilling Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Sorry that I can not help you out with the request.
    But I really wish there was a YouTube video of you grouting that well with a 20' pipe and your wife tapping it with a mallet! That's classic!

3. urthbuoy

urthbuoy Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Yes.

But some things to consider:

• double-walled heat exchanger to prevent contamination of refrigerant in to the water
      adequate water flow to prevent freezing