Ohio The start of my Geo journey… appreciate any input!

Discussion in 'Geothermal Heat Pump Testimonials' started by Tyler Z, Sep 30, 2016.

1. Tyler Z

Tyler Z New Member

All, I found this site about a month ago while researching interest in my first geothermal system. I am a mechanical engineer by education and have had interest in all things thermal/mechanical and have weighed options in passive solar, wood heat, etc. I love to work on things and have done all home improvements myself and build cars in my spare time so understanding and doing this myself are just as important on the journey as any financial savings I will get. With that said I realize any knowledge I have here pales compared to what you have so I was hoping to tap into the tremendous real world expertise I see on this forum. I learned from you that a Manual J calculation is the first step so the numbers below come from that calculation... I have details if you need them. Cincinnati appears to be heating season dominant with about double the BTU load in winter as that in summer so I will stay focused on the heating load requirements.

About the project. - Home is located in Cincinnati, Ohio and was built in 1978 and is 1800 sq.ft. It currently has propane central ducted heat with heat pump AC and I have a very high tech wood burning furnace I built last year that I use one or two times a week (ignoring since my use is inconsistent). My calculations show a 24K BTU heating requirement on the base house. I am beginning the permit process for a 2400 sq.ft. extension so I want to size for the addition as I go. The extension will be built to much better standards with Intus triple pane windows with heavy southern exposure, SIP walls and ceiling, etc. so it has only 13k BTU requirement netting 37K total BTU load.