Ohio Soil conditions horizontal loop

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Adam Porter, Dec 13, 2018.

1. Adam Porter

Adam Porter New Member

Hello, I am a new member located in eastern Ohio. I am a licensed HVAC contractor . However I am new to geothermal and think I know just enough to be dangerous . I am seeking advice based on experience, and data and greatly appreciate everyone's time and input. That being said I am considering doing my own geothermal system for my home. I would prefer to do most work myself obviously and save money and learn along the way for possible future installs.

So to start I was thinking of doing a horizontal loop field because I have heavy equipment capable of digging 10'+deep. My land area is basically unlimited and pretty flat.

My first concern is my soil conditions. I have maybe 18-24" of topsoil and then it turns to layers of shale . Is the shale going to allow acceptable contact / transfer? I would think fractured rock and moisture after backfill would be a good thing? Rock is a good conductor of heat ....I have many more questions but figured I'd start with that.

Thanks!

Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
  2. arkie6

arkie6 Active Member Forum Leader

Shale is fine, especially if it is moist.

Once you have determined your heating and cooling loads, you can download loop sizing software at the Climatemaster website and get a feel for how much loop pipe you need at what depth.

3. Adam Porter

Adam Porter New Member

Thank you for the response. I was thinking shale would be acceptable but just wanted more experienced folks opinion before I went too far. That was what I wanted to know. If I had to go vertical or not.

Yes that is my next task. Doing my heat gain/loss. I will report back soon.