Seeking guidance, reassurance. Horizontal ground loop install

Discussion in 'Geothermal Loops' started by Jerome Scarpati, Jul 7, 2017.

1. Jerome Scarpati

Jerome Scarpati New Member

Hello forum,

I am a new member and this is my first post. I have been reading this site for two years and finally ready to start my project. I will do my best to provide as much info as I can at this time.

My wife and I are building our dream home on a farm we have owned for a few years. For reasons of cost, but more importantly our desire to be as self sufficient as possible, we are doing as much of the construction process ourselves. I have been an advocate and student of geothermal for a long time, reading as much as I can. I am committed to using it in my new home. After much reading and conversation, I am hopefully I can install the majority of the system myself ( and with some guidance by those here, hopefully)

Our farm is located in central eastern Pennsylvania, Lehigh valley area if anyone is familiar. I have a backhoe on site. Ground temps at 52degrees. We are building a 4200 sqft home, with great focus on energy efficiency (quality insulation, windows, etc). Home will have wood burner backup, but system not accounting for its usage at all. My goal is all electric as I am considering other renewable sources (home hydro, solar) in the future to augment my electric bill. My soil is relatively dry and full of shale. Farm is on a hilltop area and ground is almost all shale.

We are planning on a 5 ton two stage unit, based on analysis from a private company, with an auxiliary variable heat strip to supplement. I am planning on a horizontal loop system. It is now the beginning July and I am hoping to install my loops in August, as I will have the time and equipment to do so at that time. House construction will begin in the spring (April 2018). My goal is to have the loops done now, allow for settling etc and be ready to hook into come the spring/ summer next year.