Maryland Replacing gas HVAC with geo - what to do about DHW?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Emily, Mar 19, 2018.

1. Emily

Emily New Member

I'm fairly new to geothermal. I've been reading a ton of information and have just received my first proposal.

Background: My 1950s brick rancher (1900 sq ft incl 900 sq ft finished basement) has two HVAC systems: 1) baseboard radiators on a natural gas boiler, and 2) natural gas furnace with ducts. Most of the upper floor has only ducts, and a two-story addition on the back of the house has only baseboards; most of the basement has both ducts and baseboards.

The gas boiler is more than 40 years old (!!), so my primary goal is to replace it with a GSHP before it dies on me and before that 30% federal credit starts to phase out. With today's gas prices I'm not embarking on this project expecting huge savings. Cost is a factor as it is for anyone, but I'm also motivated to reduce my carbon footprint to the extent I can afford.

So, here's the broad strokes of the plan:

1) Boiler replacement: I've settled on the WaterFurnace 504W11 because it can get hot enough to work with the existing baseboard radiators.

2) Furnace replacement: The furnace still has years of life, so I will might leave it as is for a few years. Eventually the HP will heat the whole house (and is being sized in advance to do so), but if I decide to delay adding an air handler I may wait til I can afford to run radiators to the duct-only part of the house. (I kind of hate forced air heat from a comfort standpoint.) At least one installer has recommended keeping my gas furnace as a source of aux heat. Would anyone here recommend differently?

3) Cooling: I'm currently using a decidedly un-environmentally-friendly 7 window A/C units for cooling. The WF will take over cooling whenever the NAH is added.