Illinois Premier 2 Compressor Going Out?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Dyke Corson, Nov 22, 2016.

1. Dyke Corson

Dyke Corson New Member

I'm a newbie - just found this forum. I have a Water Furnace Premier 2 installed in 1998 with a closed vertical loop. Only real issues I have had was a fan replaced about 8 years ago. Last January I noticed a high heat bill and then noticed a breaker tripped. Local company that put it in came out replaced a capacitor and a start up relay, recommended a loop flush. When we called to have the loop flush (2 months later) we were told the capacitor was bad again and it needed a new compressor. They said the compressor was obsolete and I now needed a whole new unit. I found it hard to shell out $16-$20K for a new unit (a 5 or a 7) when it was cooling the house just fine. Fast forward to November - with the below 30 degree weather we have had an error "lo pressure light" flashing. I called WF and they said it would be a good idea to have a second opinion. I called another dealer, they say the capacitor is "bulged" and the unit was having a hard time going into "stage 2". They set it so it stayed in "stage 1" while they researched a solution. Has anyone on here had a retro-fit done with a different compressor? I guess another part of the problem is this is a unit that is factory charged with R-22? I guess 17 years is all the longer these units last? Seems awfully expensive to replace. About the same time I received a "upgrade" solicitation in the mail. I'm looking at that too. Thanks in advance for any help!

2. engineer

engineer Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

I'm not familiar with Premier 2 model line so I'm not sure how that system stages between 1 and 2. More modern 2 stage systems use a single scroll compressor with a partial refrigerant bypass / unloader that provides for low stage operation at about 70% of full capacity.