Overheating unit

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by BlindPig, May 22, 2020.

1. BlindPig

BlindPig New Member

I have a 5tn Climatemaster Tranquility 27 unit and 4000sf home. It's overheating in the summer and tripping off constantly. I probably should have put more loop in the ground but the place I bought from recommended 500ft/tn which is what I did (horizontal, closed loop). Now I'm hearing it should have been double that. I'm considering a desuperheater hoping to suck some heat off the unit but also interested if anyone has any advice about just a secondary water tank to act as another source of water exchange to drop the incoming temp. I'm in a sandy soil and don't have any more room to lay down more loop. Any suggestions?

2. SShaw

SShaw Member

I have a 4T unit with 4,200 feet of pipe in the ground, so 2,500 sounds light. The desuperheater probably won't help much since it's a closed system. Once it heats up the water tank that's it. Same for any kind of secondary water tank. You probably need to figure out how to get more pipe in the ground to make any difference.

3. gsmith22

gsmith22 Member