Pennsylvania Optimizing Runtimes

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by doctor15, Dec 8, 2016.

1. doctor15

doctor15 New Member

I'm new to this, but trying to learn as much as I can...

I had a Climate Master TES038 installed about 6 months ago, and am trying to find the optimal thermostat settings on my Ecobee.

I'm a bit concerned that even in the mid 30s it seems to require VERY long runtimes (often in Stage 2) to maintain the temperature. Here's a graph of the runtimes today, with the top being Stage 1, lighter orange Stage 2, and red is a gas furnace.

[​IMG]

Is ok for the HP to be running for that long? Does this look like its operating properly? I expected more frequent, but shorter cycles mostly in Stage 1 (like what you see overnight). I'm concerned it may not hold up on colder days.

P.S. The installer recommended a ClimateMaster thermostat "because its made to work with it", and offered to install it for free next week. I would prefer the Ecobee because I like being able to monitor and tweak how its operating, but may go for it if things aren't working optimally.

2. Stickman

Stickman Active Member Forum Leader

Are you programming the t-stat to a lower temp at night? Odd that it runs less at night (usually colder than day). Aux usage at 7 am suggests a call for a rapid temp increase.

3. doctor15

doctor15 New Member

Yes, I drop the temp 3 degrees at night for comfort, so the Aux kicking on at 7am was expected. I'm open to experimenting with that a bit though.

Its the ~9am-8pm timeframe I'm more concerned about.

BTW, at the bottom of the graph the orange line represents my setpoint and the white line represents the indoor temperature.

4. Stickman

One thing noticeable is that your heat pump doesn't downstage from 2nd to 1st during the day.

Im sure the pros will be by here soon.

5. doctor15

doctor15 New Member