open pond loop inlet and outlet

Discussion in 'Open Loop' started by matt42, Aug 23, 2014.

1. matt42

matt42 New Member

Hi guys! I am really new to this but have read a lot of great info here. I am new to this geo stuff but am very interested in it. I am in the process of excavating a 3.5 - 4 acre pond on my property in northeast ohio. I am going to be building a 2400sqft home on this property in another year or two am tryin to lay the ground work for an open pond loop system. Well water is bad in my area and hard to come by a good one so the pond is the best use here. There will also be another 1600sqft house using the same well with separate pumps for geo.
    I need some info on the best design of pond side well to use for this open loop system. Attempts to get info from local contractors has been terrible. None of them install open loop and will not even discuss it. My guess is that they do not know much about them or there is no real money in it for them. I just want to get this right the first time and haven't seen much info about designing inlet and outlet systems on a pond. I have been discussing with my excavator about using a 12" casing with a "T" out into the pond at about 6' down. Any thoughts? Can anyone give me pros and cons on any different types of designs. Thank you in advance for any info.

Matt

2. waterpirate

waterpirate Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Your best application for long life and no hassles is prolly a closed pond loop, not open. I would be hesitant to do an open pond loop due to possible biologic interferance. Some one will have to clean the frogs, turtles, and ducks from your intake screen. lol Research slimjims and pond slinkys. Send Mark Custiss a pm, he is in your area and can help with your project.
    Eric

3. waterpirate

Oh no! I am in time out! The dreaded moderation software glitch! lol
    Eric

4. Palace GeoThermal

Palace GeoThermal Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader