New Geothermal system questions

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Dan Dillner, Jan 20, 2014.

1. Dan Dillner

Dan Dillner Member

OK a newbie here to this forum. This summer I took on the challenge to build my own house here in Vermont. We are on Lake Champlain and have a 2000sqft 1.5 story home. Very tight construction with foam insulation and triple glazed windows. We have been finishing the inside and living in it. We have been heating the building with 2-3 (1500W) electric space heaters comfortably to 70Deg even in the worst blast of -13 Deg F. Getting the GEOHP up and heating has been a bit lower priority to making the place liveable. Now I have the heat pump up and running, duct work in place and insulated but have some questions.

1) I thought I would get a larger Delta T on both the EWT/LWT and the EAT/LAT. I can decrease the LWT by throttling down the exit valve. We measured the Wattage the well pump was using and it is around 500W so I have been focusing on reducing the run time of the heat pump which brings me back to the EAT/LAT delta. The most I have ever been able to measure is 13Deg F. Is this reasonable? In 20 Degree F outside air temp the HP is running about 50% of the time. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks Dan

Here is my best at the list of background questions
    ) Where you live -- Vermont
    2) Heat loss/gain calculations for your home -- Not sure, I built the house myself. 2000sqft, 6" walls, closed foam insulation 7" up and 4" walls. Windows are triple pane. My estimated manual J was 40-50 Thousand BTU so I bought a 58,000 BTU unit (It might be too large)
    3) Brand, size (model) and type of heat pump Coldflo dual air cfx060
    4) Type of loop field (open/closed/vertical/horizontal) size and design parameters Standing column well with porter schroud 420ft deep. Pump is a variable constant flow capable of 18-20GPM.
    5) Average cost/Kwh of electricity and consumption .15c/kWh