Need help with proper sizing of heat pump

Discussion in 'Quotes and Proposals' started by jtp, Mar 26, 2014.

1. jtp

jtp New Member

Hi, I’m kind of new to geothermal and am building a 3800 square foot home in CT (living space) not including garage or basement. Calculations come out to 74302 heating load and cooling load is 38140. I have been quoted by two different companies. One states that a 5 ton unit is more than enough and the other is telling me that I need 6 tons and that a 5 ton will not be able to heat the house efficiently. I really want to get the sizing right after researching issues on systems that are too small or too large. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Both are similar in price at approx 47K. Thanks for the help.

2. trade guy

trade guy New Member

Have you seen the actual load calculations from each of the two companies you are dealing with? Also, what type (brand not required) of equipment are they proposing? Meaning one stage, two stage, etc. Is this going to be multi-story house? My advice, try another 3rd contractor with a minimum of five years experience in geothermal work in the area of where the new house is to be.

3. AMI Contracting

AMI Contracting A nice Van Morrison song Industry Professional Forum Leader

First try to bring the load down further.
    Without running the numbers I suspect the 5 is fine.

4. jtp

jtp New Member

Other company load calcs were lower with heat around 68k and cooling at 33k. Both are single pump systems in basement. hydron module 5 ton hxt or 6 ton comfort aire. I believe hydron would be the better unit and am not really familiar with comfort aire. The house is a colonial 2 stories plus basement, good amount of windows (marvin) Thanks.

5. docjenser

docjenser Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader