Need comments on a big project.

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by bILL wILT, Nov 19, 2020.

1. bILL wILT

bILL wILT New Member

Would anyone be willing to put their 2 cents in on the following?

Not ready yet to deal with contractors who will inevitable pester me to sway this way or that. I want to figure out my best options from other’s experience first at my own pace.

I'm planning a 6,000 sq. ft. roughly half slab half second story house with radiant floor heat, limited (hydronic?) ductless AC, with a 17,000 gal indoor pool in a walkout half basement (with southern exposure, full passive solar, and cover when not in use). In Colorado at roughly 7,500 feet. And then 6 people in the house.

I'm an amateur architect since I was 13 so I know space planning and CADD well enough to get a working design for the house but this is still just a dream at this point.

From what I've gleaned so far from Google searches (and without a degree in thermodynamics), I'm thinking a 8-9 ton pump for the house and 2-ton pump for the pool (and area) with DSH's for both for DHW. An 80 gal preheat storage tank for the DSH's, with an 80 gal HPWH. Storage tank shouldn’t need heat. Pool will be heated 24/7/365. House will be super insulated and not many big windows except floor to ceiling in 20’ high (20' x 30') west facing living room with wood burning fireplace and 13’6 ceiling in pool area (36' x 30'). It’s going to have to be a vertical loop system with probable rock at about 4-6’.

I think the house pump is smaller than recommended but I'm hoping to get away with that because I only need warm, not hot water with radiant floor heat(?). Pool pump too may be smaller than recommended but it will have full passive solar and plenty of sunshine in the Colorado winters.

I realize it's hard to give recommendations on a system this big without very specific requirements but you may at least help me not make a complete idiot out of myself when I try to pursue this.