Ohio Maximum Loop usage?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by kinglerch, Aug 19, 2016.

1. kinglerch

kinglerch Member

I have a Climatemaster TT30 and vertical loop field with flow center. It has been working normally for a year or two, until one time I was using the A/C more than usual when the flow center turned off and for a few hours the TT30 would be "running" but no water was flowing, no cooling of the air, just the fan.

I figured something was wrong, so I reset the system, turned the A/C on, and still no water flow and no cooling so I just turned it off. After some more hours, I turned on the A/C and it is working fine, the water is flowing and plenty of cooling.

Is there some maximum loop usage that the TT30 keeps track of and will not continue to use the loop field, or what could be going on? The water in wasn't particularly warm, like mid 70s.

2. geoxne

geoxne Active Member Forum Leader

It appears your unit locked out on a fault safety. Compressor and pump will shutoff and the fan will continue to blow.

There is no sense in speculating why until the fault code is retrieved from the control board to at least give a hint of what is going on. Your unit most probably has the CXM board. Fault codes are retrieved by shorting the test pins on the CXM board and counting the flash code. CAUTION this is done with the cover off and power on. Death or injury may occur if done incorrectly. If you are not qualified call a technician. Then lookup code in documentation or on wiring diagram inside of service panel.

3. kinglerch

kinglerch Member

Does the fault have to be occurring at the time to get the fault code, or does it store the most recent fault(s)?

4. geoxne

The CXM board will store the last fault in memory unless power was disconnected to the board. This is called a hard reset.