Looking for design advice on equipment install.

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by OakStreetDesign, Nov 10, 2019.

1. OakStreetDesign

OakStreetDesign New Member

Hello all, noob here looking for a little help. I'm a builder of nearly 30 years but a novice on geothermal. Currently building my own new house and at the point where I need professional advice.

Underground: We've installed 5 ground loops (slinky style) approximately 65 3' loops with 6" overlap of 3/4 HDPE pipe 6' down with 6-8'between trenches. Total pipe in trenches is slightly less than 800' with probably a variance of >10% between lengths.

Equipment: We haven't ordered it yet but considering the the Climatmaster 3 ton split unit TES038BGD00CNNS with Air Handler TAH038BGSMBS for the main part of the home and then the Climatemaster TES026BGD02CNNS 30 Seer split GSHP Unit W/internal flow control and Climatemaster TAH026CGSMBS Horizontal air handler for the new spaces. Both split units would reside in the basement where the lines enter/exit with linesets going to the air handlers.

Ductwork is already in (we are at the sheetrock stage) and locations for the air handlers are set. I've seen pictures of some very elegant and organized piping/pump setups and am hoping those of you here could help me with a materials list/design on how mine should be configured. Questions I have are how do you control flow through the five lines/monitor outgoing and incoming temps, do you split the 5 lines between the units (3 & 2?) or combine them, do the internal pumps both operate or do you use external pumps, what should I have to take advantage of domestic water heating, and I'm sure there are a number of questions I haven't considered.

Any help would be appreciated, if there are any of you located in the Southern/Central Connecticut area who consult on this type of work I would be more than happy to meet/work with you. This will be the last house I build for myself and I'm looking to do it right.