Initial Design: W-W HX for Domestic Water Production

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by peecubed, Dec 6, 2018 at 11:54 AM.

1. peecubed

peecubed New Member

Hi all,
    I'm an engineer working through the initial design of a geothermal installation. I've read through the forums a fair amount, and see alot of knowledge on here, and was hoping to get some feedback on my initial thoughts and design. I'm specifically working on the plumbing side, so that's where my questions are coming from.

Basics:
    Building is a rural farm maintenance building (shop) with attached employee kitchenette, bathrooms, offices, and conference rooms.

Location is in the Hudson Valley, New York.

Right now, working with another engineer on the HVAC side, his schematic design is calling for 3 heat pumps: radiant floor shop heating, radiant snow melt, and heated/chilled 'fan coils' for office/commercial spaces.

The domestic water load is rather small, with only 2 public showers, 2 associated hand sinks, a kitchenette sink, and some small emergency items like eyewash & shower.

Questions:
    I'm leaning towards linking the domestic water production to the radiant floor heat pump, with a controlled diverting valve. This would use a w-w indirect heat exchanger - I see the Stiebl Elton tanks recommended on here. From experience you guys have, would that be the recommendation since I'm already making hot water?

Or would you recommend using a desuperheater off the 'fan coil' heat pump since it'll be running year round, and then backing that up with a powered water heater?

If I use the radiant floor heat pump for the DHW production, the controls would have prioritize calls for heating between the two. Who makes these controls systems? Are these often packaged with the heat pumps?