I installed a used FHP open loop

Discussion in 'Geothermal Heat Pump Testimonials' started by Tony Scarpelli, Dec 1, 2013.

1. Tony Scarpelli

Tony Scarpelli New Member

Hello all,

This is my first post. I am a remodel contractor and Spray Polyurethane Foam insulation installer.

I remodeled my retirement home (out in the country a bit) and when I got the prices of propane gas these days I started researching zero energy homes. That led me to install spray foam insulation in the walls and attic and install a water sourced heat pump.

I cheated a little bit in that I used the Climate master savings calculator for a rough estimate of change in manual J. The calculator seemed accurate for the previous state of size and insulation so I thought I would give it a try. It said that the best level of weatherization and insulation properties in a home of 1674 sqft would draw 18,000 btus a/c and 20,000 btus heat, in my area (Kansas zone 4). So without too fine of point on it, I feel we did as good of job insulating a home as could be done with 4.5" wall cavity fill open cell foam in the walls and 5.5" in the cathedral room and 7" in the attic and gables. R values are low R14 and R28 or so but the spray foam prevents nearly all unintended breathing or heat gain/loss so probably perform close to R30 walls and R50 ceiling. We sprayed 100% of the walls, ceilings or attic and only have about 12-13% windows and almost none on the north and east walls. We plan on using passive solar warming as well and I might eventually get around to active solar heating of water and hydroponic system for partial heat to augment my FHP.