Hydronic geo pump for existing baseboards?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by jacurt2, Feb 28, 2014.

1. jacurt2

jacurt2 New Member

Hello,
    I just had a company come out yesterday and they are in the process of completing calculations etc. before sending me a quote and proposal. Their design is suggesting a w2w pump to supply my existing baseboard heat that is currently powered by a propane boiler. This pump would also supply 2 air handler units that will go in the attic (my understanding at least, I'm new to this). My question: can geo supply the baseboards with water much hotter than 120? If not then this seems impractical to me. I'm sure I'm omitting a ton of important details so let me know what you guys need. Our house is an 1820 farmhouse in SE Pennsylvania, roughly 2700 sq ft. All ductwork originates from the attic and there is limited opportunity for new ductwork in the basement. Any ideas? I'm all ears.

2. jacurt2

jacurt2 New Member

With some fierce googling, I found that the WaterFurnace Series 5 (502W12) can put out higher temps (150F) than other w2w systems. Does it make more sense to use this as opposed to a lower temp Bosch model? Not sure if my guy can do WF though, may be a moot point. Maybe I'm making too big an issue of the temperature output difference.

3. urthbuoy

urthbuoy Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Waterfurnace and Climatemaster have high temp units. Others may have as well. You can also increase baseboards. Just need to do some number crunching.

4. jacurt2

jacurt2 New Member

Thanks for the response! Increasing baseboards isn't an option for me. What are the implications of using a higher temp unit on the rest of the system?

5. urthbuoy

urthbuoy Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader