Illinois HWG Pump Failure

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Mike McFadin, Jan 7, 2019.

1. Mike McFadin

Mike McFadin New Member

I have a 10 year old Climatemaster Tranquility 27. The HWG system sprung a leak where hot water out connects to the geo system and flooded good portion of my basement before we caught it. Tech replaced rubber seals and it is now water tight but the Taco circulator pump is not moving water. Got quote to replace Taco pump today with part cost of $400+. Estimate my total cost would be well over $500 by time labor is included.

I am thinking best solution would be to disable HWG and disconnect geo from my hot water system. Average yearly cost to operate an electrichot water heater in my area is around $300 and my geo really only made HW during heating season. I have R410a based system and my loop temps never get high enough in the summer. My Hot water tanks are also 10 years old so now seems like good time to replace with more current model. Does my logic sound correct?

2. nc73

nc73 Member Forum Leader

I would replace the pump. It does generate hot water in the winter, it just costs some efficiency with the HP. Summer time is basically almost free. Why replace the water tanks if it ain't broke?

3. Mike McFadin

Mike McFadin New Member

Thanks for the feedback.