Washington Hp Home DIY Geothermal

Discussion in 'Geothermal Heat Pump Testimonials' started by Hp Home, Dec 30, 2015.

1. Hp Home

Hp Home Member

First post here so I will start with my intro-

I have 20 years experience as a home builder and I am also very mechanically inclined. I am also a die hard do-it-yourselfer. Currently I am building a new home that our family of 4 will live in for the next 20 or 30 years and I am doing damn near everything myself. I enjoy it and take a lot of pride in my work.

I have been absorbing information about geothermal for a couple years now. Much of it from this forum, a couple other sites, manufacturers literature, and Caleffi Idronics which I refer back to regularly.

I also read Manual J and Manual D and put some effort into a good load calculation. Then I used Climatemasters GeoDesigner software to design the ground loops and get an idea of how the system would perform. It was nice to be able to adjust variables and see how it would affect system performance.

The design the computer program generated for me is a horizontal closed loop, 'six-pipe' design, 300' long trench six feet deep, returning at four feet deep. I ended up modifying this slightly doing what I would call an 'eight-pipe'. Four loops instead of three. The trench is 280' long, 6' minimum depth and 4' minimum width. The pipe is 3/4" SDR11, all 600' long. They run out at 6' deep, then I backfilled 2' and the pipes return at 4' deep.

Here is a few pics of the ground loop install. I can drive an excavator all day but my good buddy has amazing skills at pulling levers and moving dirt so he drove and I wrestled pipe. I used notched 2x4's to keep the pipes spaced evenly the I removed them as we backfilled. And yes I know working in a trench is dangerous and I should have been wearing my hard hat.

IMG_1884.JPG

IMG_1866.JPG

IMG_1869.JPG

2. heatoldhome

heatoldhome Geo Student Forum Leader

Looks nice to me!

I am also a DIY guy. Not a expert.