How to know if Desuperheater pump is working

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Waukman, May 26, 2008.

1. Waukman

Waukman Member

Geoexchange web site - where is it?

I wanted to direct someone to the geoexchange web site but it no longer seems to be up. Does anyone know that status of the site? I see there is an annoucement regarding it but it is rather old. Is the site still being hit by dos attacks?

2. The former GHPC website was hosted on a temporary windows server. The attacks stopped after we took the old site down.

I planned on a smoother switch but the script vulnerabilities in the old site necessitated its prompt removal.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Phil

3. Waukman

Waukman Member

Not a problem. I hope it is back soon. I have found it a very valuable resources over the last few years.

4. brandtryan

brandtryan Guest

Ok, I'm a newbie, I admit it!

Problem is, on my water furnace Spectra model, I've made sure the DHW pump is being commanded on, but there doesn't seem to be any circulation. All valves are open, and on the side of the unit where the DHW OUT line is, it is hot to the touch (right at the unit)--but six inches further away from the unit, and towards the water heater, it is ice cold.

There are onboard diagnostics but only for the output signal to the pump--there's no way to get actual pump "status", as far as I can tell. I'm assuming it is not working since the line to the water heater is always cold!

Plumbing is not an issue--I verified the setup according to the original installation guide (see figure 2 in attachment).

Thanks for any replies!

5. GeoXNE

GeoXNE Guest

brandtryan

1) The DSH loop may be airbound. Open vent as shown in piping diagram to purge air. Also try burping air from the wet rotor pump by backing off quarter sized slotted end cap only 1/2 to 1 turn CCW (you don't want to go far enough to blast the cap in your face) retighten when only water comes out.

2) Verify voltage at the motor leads.