Horizontal closed loop what if question

Discussion in 'Geothermal Loops' started by kk4ej, Apr 3, 2019.

1. kk4ej

kk4ej Member

In exploring design and working with the loop link software, I am asking this just to learn more about the concepts....

Lets assume a system has a loop design of 4 x 3/4" x 700 ft loops. Other than the obvious answer of expense of pipe and digging, would adding a additional loop ( making 5 in total ) provide a better "reserve" to use versus using longer pipes, such as a 4 x 3/4" x 800ft. It would reduce the flow in each pipe and provide a much larger area for exchange...

In the software, I basically see about a 2 degree change in the max EWT....

Is there something else Im missing?

My background is electronics and using the logic of heat sinks, Ive never had a circuit give problems by having larger heat sinks, but lots of issues with sinks too small.

Thanks in advance. This is a learning experience for me, like a big curious kid.

2. waterpirate

waterpirate Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

My experience doing vertical loops is that adding a extra loop to a field makes a small difference in performance as the software bore out. It becomes a matter of economics. Cost of more loop vs. performance gain. As you are your own installer adding a extra loop only adds material and time costs.
    Eric

3. arkie6

arkie6 Active Member Forum Leader

Adding another loop reduces the flow rate down each individual loop. It is a good idea to insure the flow rate is high enough to keep the Reynolds number >2500 if possible, but not so high as to create unnecessary flow resistance. So if adding another loop reduces your Reynolds number too low you may get less heat transfer per loop and may not gain much if any advantage over 4 loops. How many tons is the unit? Maximum expected total loop flow? Water alone or water plus ? in your loops (anti-freeze affects the Reynolds number and flow resistance).

4. docjenser