Ontario Home Basic Maintenance of a Geo System

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by mrpac, Jan 30, 2019.

1. mrpac

mrpac New Member

Hi all,

I am a tweaker/tinkerer. I have finally come to grips with my issue that will plague me for years to come.

That being said, apparently I fit the role for being a GEO owner/operator.
    I am also a PLC developer (write programs for automation) and electrician, so I have lots of experience with controls. I hope to spend many future years having fun with this GEO system that I have inherited through a house purchase.

That being said, the physical water/compressor GEO stuff is all new to me.

I have found a website that goes through some pretty basic testing for most GEO systems.
    https://www.contractingbusiness.com/service/10-steps-servicing-geothermal-heat-pump

I would like to perform most of the maintenance on my own, other than items that absolutely need to be carried out by an experienced person.

In the maintenance website tutorial it asks to measure temp, pressure for the Delta readings. I have some fancy ports on my recirculation water lines but I don't know much about them - are they quick release fittings for reading pressure? There is probably a technical term for them.....I really just want to be equipped to provide information if required - and to check things every once in a while.

What I am looking for is a few things -
    1) Basic toolkit of instruments required so that I can provide basic information if asked
    2) local to Greater Toronto Area GEO experienced service tech company that I can be referred to

2. Michael Mulder

Michael Mulder New Member

I would describe myself similar to you. I'm curious if you had any luck finding tools to help out?

3. Stickman

Stickman Member Forum Leader

Here’s my very short list of tools I have and would recommend to you: