Delaware High pressure drop

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Kastenusa, Feb 26, 2015.

1. Kastenusa

Kastenusa New Member

I have a Climatemaster 5 ton unit with one single flow pump. (5 loops 200ft deep), return closed header. My pressure drop across the coil is 7 psi. In manual specs say my pressure drop should be around 4.8 psi with 15gpm. I recently contact Climatemaster support with this question. Here is what they say:
    "If your water was 50° and is a closed pressurized loop then the pressure drop of 7 is too high. You most likely would be moving in excess of 5 gpm which could over a long period of time cause erosion damage to the coaxial heat exchanger. If this is so, and there are some type of valves on the system, the water should be slowed down to the appropriate pressure drop based on the incoming water temperature."

I don't have any valves installed. My question is it ok to restrict the flow or i need new pump? Please give me your thoughts.

Thanks!

2. engineer

engineer Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

You could throttle the flow easily enough. A smaller or multi-speed pump would be the better answer, but it is difficult to gauge the ROI for replacement.

Whoever spec'd the oversized pump is due a dope slap.

3. Kastenusa

Kastenusa New Member

I just got second email from CM.
    They talking about using 3-way to slow the flow. What do you think about this? Is it gonna do some damage to the pump?

"You should reduce it to around 4.5 psi differential. If you have an external flow center you can utilize the 3-way valves on each side of it to slow water down. Having a flow restrictor or full port ball valves in line is the preferred way, but since everything is installed I would use it so you don’t have to have the loop reflushed. "

4. waterpirate

waterpirate Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader