Help guys, with backflushing

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by david3394, Feb 24, 2011.

1. david3394

david3394 New Member

Hello
    New here, and can really use some help. I have a Climatemaster Tranquility series geo unit with the cupro nickel coil. It is an open loop system. We have very hard water, and the system is in need of backflushing. I was told to use Nu-calgon ice machine cleaner to backflush the coil. The green one, and not the clear one. I used it today, but I don't think that it did any good, or maybe I didn't do it right. I mixed about 5 ounces per gallon, and made up 5 galons of mix. I backflushed it thru the coil for about 45 minutes, than I made another 5 gallon batch, and backflushed it again for another 45 minutes. My questions are as follows,,,

Is the green Nu-calgon nickel safe ice machine cleaner strong enough to do the job properly???
    If it isn't, what should I be using????
    How long should I be flushing it for,, is 1 1/2 hours long enough, or should I be doing it longer?????

I'm not in the trade, but am a do-it-yourselfer. I called Climatemaster, and asked them the same questions, but they were of absolutely no help at all, I could tell that they didn't want to give me any info at all. He kept telling me to call a service person, and set up a schedule to have it done. The unit is still running pretty much 24/7, and the Aux-heat keeps coming on to bring the temp up. Two years ago when we had the system installed, the Aux-heat wouldn't come on untill it got to 0 or slightly below, now it is 28 degrees outside, and the Aux-heat is on now as I type this. Please tell me what to use, and how long to use it. I plan on doing this every fall from now on. I can't take many more of these $450 heating bills.
    Any information would be greatly appreciated. If you would prefer to e-mail me directly, that would be great too. david3394@gmail.com

Thanks Dave

2. Mark Custis