Georgia HELP doing an addition will my unit handle it?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Hoop2845, May 9, 2020.

1. Hoop2845

Hoop2845 New Member

First of all let me say that I am so happy that this group was established for people like me. I am new to Geothermal and have a question I need some advice on.

We bought a house last November with an Open Loop System that works off a well. The unit is a 3 ton Bosch system.

We have a 1800 square foot brick house that has 900 up and 900 in the basement. The basement is fully exposed on the North side (sliding glass doors on the entire side), the other 3 walls are underground.

We are doing an addition upstairs adding another 900 square feet. Once this addition is done we will only use the basement a few times a year for company.

What we are wanting to do is put in a different HVAC upstairs that would cover the original 900 sq ft upstairs and the additional 900 sq ft we are adding.

I understand that the system would really be oversized for 900 sq.ft. But, my question is, can we run that Geothermal System on just the 900 sq feet in the basement without hurting the equipment. Like I said earlier it would maybe be ran 2-3 days a month max.

If that would not be feasible do you think the current unit would carry the additional 900 sq ft we are adding. Taking into consideration that a third of the square footage is in the basement and not used year round.

Heating /Cooling: 900 sq.ft
    Unit: Bosch
    Size: 3 ton

2. Deuce

Deuce Member

I think the existing unit could handle the AC summer load because the basement should stay fairly cool, but the heating load in the winter would be harder. You will need to get ducts up to the new floor. I would say if you could add the new floor and remove or have a way to use a damper to close off or just provide minimal HVAC to the basement you might just need a mini split for the basement.

3. arkie6

arkie6 Active Member Forum Leader