Geothermal system types - water (ground) source vs direct exchange (DX)

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by sjohnson, Mar 18, 2009.

1. sjohnson

sjohnson Guest

Hello all-

I am new to this, but i have a basic understanding on how geothermal heating/cooling works.

My question is with Geothermal heating/cooling types, I have spoken to one installer who uses the refrigerant to transfer heat directly back to the ground and others which utilize water/antifreeze solution.

Is one type "better" than the other, or does it come down to cost.

I was told the "DX" system uses 3" holes drilled in a conical pattern out from a manifold 65-70' deep with the copper tubing carrying the coolant directly into the ground. the others mentioned 200' holes drilled at a much larger diameter.
    thanks for any help you can offer.

2. wrice3

wrice3 New Member

Depends

on your soil type. I don't see you have your location noted? Some places like where I live, the soil will eat the copper pipe, so the closest DX installer is an hour away and no one where I live does DX because of the soil. So all the installs here are plastic pipe with MeOH-H2O. The most important part of all this is the loop design, so if the DX installer knows what he/she is doing and can design an appropriate system that will not leak, I would consider that. But definitely go with an experienced installer, whether it is DX or not.

3. sjohnson

sjohnson Guest

thanks, i should have been more specific.

Rhode Island is the location of the site, the building is a 4000sqft commercial post and beam construction SIPS insulated. We are planning to go with radiant floor heating and ducted A/C. (Our intent is LEED Gold) The DX company is out of PA, they claim to have successfully installed as far north as Maine.

I have never heard of DX type Geo.. possibly because of Ph issues?

4. ClarkT

ClarkT Member