Indiana GEO Out line repair with new Valves.

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by IndyCamper, Sep 13, 2019.

1. IndyCamper

IndyCamper New Member

Question regarding some maintenance on my open loop GEO. I have a 3 ton ClimateMaster and I have developed a leak at a PVC ball valve in the outlet side. I have also noticed a leak in my TACO valve. I will be replace the TACO valve and ball valve. Here is my question .... the ball valve was positioned in a way to restrict flow. The ball valve is before the TACO valve. When replacing the leaking components, I don't want to throttle the ball valve to create the restriction. What I would like to do is place a restrictor valve on the exit of the TACO valve. Like this:

GEO Out----> Ball Valve (open) --->TACO--->restrictor (Dole valve or similar @ 9 GPM) ---> Pond

I was told by ClimateMaster my unit was a 3 Ton with 3GPM flow per ton. Will this setup work? I understand a Dole valve could be noisy, so alternatives recommendations are welcome. Thank!

2. geoxne

geoxne Active Member Forum Leader

Open loop only requires 1.5 GPM per ton if entering water is above 50F. Do not pump more than you have to. Choose your flow controller accordingly.

Water noise can be controlled. Any valve or fitting can make noise if there is a pressure drop greater than 8psi. You can lower the pressure of the entering water and/or raise the pressure of the discharge line. I usually place a ball valve after the flow restrictor and adjust until the sound is minimized at the flow restrictor. This helps spread the pressure drop across several components.

3. IndyCamper

IndyCamper New Member

So from your comments, 1.5 GPM per ton is a standard number for most GEO's in open loop?

Also, what types of restrictors are popular?

I would also like to know if my control valve can me monitored for internal leaks (valves not closing). Can I set up permanent gauges or flow meters in the line that can tell me my control valve is not closing?