New York Frozen Tankless Finishing

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by johnny1720, Feb 18, 2015.

1. johnny1720

johnny1720 Member

I have a HWG on my ClimateMaster 4 ton. I have a 50 gallon buffer that feeds an early generation tankless. The tankless froze on Sunday night it was -23 and a steady wind. I was able to defrost it and it worked fine. However it froze again later that day and is now destroyed. Heat exchanger cracked and water ran into the electronic controls. My breaker panel is full unless I install a sub panel. I am not sure I want another tankless or if I can afford another one.

What should i do? The last time I filled propane in October it was $4.00 per gallon

I currently have hot water directly from the buffer tank, so I have a little bit of time to decide.

2. docjenser

docjenser Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Isn't the tankless inside? How can it freeze?

3. johnny1720

johnny1720 Member

Yes indeed, the tankless is inside. When it gets that cold the stainless steel exhaust radiates cold air down the vent. When this happens the top of the exchanger freezes. This has froze about 4 times in the past. However this time it froze hard and cracked. Then it leaked and then it made a big mess.

4. johnny1720

johnny1720 Member

Here is a video sort of explaining why my tank froze that I found online. My unit uses inside combustion air. However I had nothing in the house using combustion air.

I am not sure how to prevent this and this was a $1500 investment 6 years ago.

5. dgbair

dgbair Just a hobby Forum Leader

No room to swap in a few duplex breakers into the main panel?

6. johnny1720

johnny1720 Member

Well I got great news today, the tankless had a 12 year warranty. Because of the location of my home they said it was a defect. They said it should be protected down to -30. It will be covered under warranty with little money out of my pocket. The replacement is scheduled to arrive on Monday.