Feedback desired about DIY installation of Geothermal

Discussion in 'Geothermal Heat Pump Applications' started by Kevin Anderson, Jun 25, 2014.

1. Kevin Anderson

Kevin Anderson New Member

The compressor of our 1993 TETCO ES-3.5 geothermal furnace bit the dust 2 weeks ago. The options we are looking at are having an HVAC tech replace the compressor, paying an installer $12K+ to install a new 4 ton unit (our existing horizontal 6 pipe, closed loop system seems to be fine and is rated for 4 ton max), or install a new 4 ton unit myself for $6-7K. I am an avid DIYer who built our home (with a lot of help) and does most auto maintenance. I have also done some electrical and plumbing. As a teacher I have more time for this in the summer.
    I would love to read feedback from others regarding DIY installations. Once I found that the geo units came pre-charged with R-410a it seemed possible. It appears that a couple of suppliers ( TerraSource and Ingrams Water and Heat) cater to DIY installations and offer tech support.
    Our home is in Southwest Ohio.
    Thanks!!

2. urthbuoy

urthbuoy Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

It is very possible. Though you'll likely do better to work through whoever supplies your heat pump.

Things to keep in mind:
    - replacement units don't magically fix any other issues (loops, ducting, pump sizing, etc.)
    - warranty?
    - heat pumps sold directly to public are generally of "lesser" quality than those available from other brands (yep, I'll stand by that)
    - future service work?

If you know what you're doing (plumbing, power, sheet metal), and have all the parts lined up. It's about 1.5 days of work.

NathanB likes this.
  3. Bergy

Bergy Member Industry Professional Forum Leader