Prince Edward Island Excessive kWh/day

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by lieut_data, Dec 7, 2020.

1. lieut_data

lieut_data New Member

I'm very new to the geothermal scene, having just recently purchased a home on the island with such a system, distributing via in-floor heating to the ~1800 square foot, slab foundation house. As a family of six (doing lots of laundry), we're accustomed to 1000-1200 kWh/month over the past few years.

Having been heating with oil and a small pellet stove, the idea of saving money with the geothermal system excited us! Unfortunately, this past electricity bill for October/November billed us for just over 3000 kWh. We're on track for 3500-4000 kWh this month, and it hasn't even consistently gotten below freezing! (We lowered the thermostats for a day to confirm the daily kWh dropped accordingly, even though the system was still contributing to the hot water heater.)

Given the daily kWh usage, I have a feeling that something isn't working correctly with the system, and I'm trying to engage with the original installers -- put in about 10 years ago -- to try to figure things out. But I get the impression that I'll make the most progress if I try to take ownership of the problem for myself. A lot of this new vocabulary, so if I make a mistake, please help correct me!

Note that when we first powered on the system, the overflow valve on one of the buffer tanks was leaking a small, but consistent amount of water. I put a bucket under it, and it eventually stopped leaking when the system got up to pressure.