EWT for vertical loop seasonal variation

Discussion in 'Geothermal Loops' started by richard kellogg, Aug 25, 2016.

1. richard kellogg

richard kellogg New Member

I am new to geothermal heating/cooling and have been trying to educate myself. So I have a question for the experts about the variation in entering water temperature from a vertical loop over a season.

For a vertical loop, how much of the temperature variation is due to the heat being added/removed to/from the loop field, and how much variation would be there without any loop heat being added/removed by the load?

For example, look at the EWT_source graph from this pair of 400 ft wells - http://welserver.com/WEL0383/ (3rd graph from bottom of page). This shows a sinusoidal like yearly variation from around 50F in summer to around 30 F in winter. So my question is, if the heat pump were not running (but the circulator was - so that the EWT = LWT = average temp along the well), what would this graph look like (e.g. still a sine like wave, but with a mean of maybe 60 F, and peak maybe in august of around 61F- 62F)?

Thanks for responses.

2. urthbuoy

urthbuoy Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

Only the top 20' or so of soil has any seasonal temperature fluctuation.

3. richard kellogg

So are you are saying 100% of the temp variation is due to the heat being added/removed?

4. urthbuoy

Not really. I'm just stating what I know and one can extrapolate from there.

But yes, the fluctuation is vertical boreholes is going to be mostly from heat of extraction/rejection by the heat pumps.

5. docjenser

docjenser Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader