Indiana ERV vs. Dehumidifier with Modulating Air?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Outtreking, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Outtreking

Outtreking New Member

Hello, everyone. This is my first time to post to this forum. I have visited and read many of your posts over the last few months and found this to be a very valuable forum to help me in deciding to go with geothermal for my new construction home in Central Indiana.

I have decided to go with a Water Furnace Series 5. My biggest question is concerning fresh air in the house. We will have approximately 2200 sq.ft. on the first floor and 2200 sq.ft. basement with spray foam insulation in the exterior walls and deck of the attic. I have been quoted a whole house humidifier and a balanced ERV system. As I asked more questions, the contractor told me with the spray foam and our environment we are going to be pretty likely to have moisture in the house that will need to be removed. I asked if I should do a dehumidifier instead of the humidifier and the contractor said yes and add a modulating air unit with it instead of do the ERV. He mentioned the ERV systems can get plugged up and usually end up being unplugged due to homeowner frustrations. Another contractor told me if I don't do the ERV then I will get odors lingering from cooking and stale air.

Can anyone offer any advice as to which kind of system I should look into running or is this something I can leave out for now and determine at a later point what is truly needed with my particular situation?

I really appreciate all of your help and advice in advance.

2. ChrisJ

ChrisJ Active Member Forum Leader

I have learned a lot on this subject having built my own house with spray foam in the walls & attic floor. I don't have time to write it down right now, after work tonight.

How many Baths? You can do what's called exhaust only ventilation using bath fans and a passive fresh air vent somewhere in the house. That's the inexpensive way to do it.