Electric bill

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by TuffToodle, Nov 29, 2018.

1. TuffToodle

TuffToodle New Member

Hello all!
    This is my first time in the forum so I am hoping I'm in the right place. I am desperate for some help! I will post whatever information you need, so please just ask.
    A few years ago we installed a new geothermal system alongside a new solar panel system. We expected that with this combination our energy bills would be nearly nonexistent. However, every year from November to may we get hit with ridiculously high electric bills . Last February it was over $500. It seems clear that the issue is the cold weather. We are remodeling our first floor and doing all the work ourselves so in the past our air sealing wasn't perfect, but each year we get closer and it doesn't reflect in our bills. Each year I have emailed both the Geo installers and solar installers to make sure the systems are operating properly and they assure me it's nothing in their end. I'm at a loss as to the cause and not sure what to do. I have considered an energy audit, but that doesn't seem worth it until the remodel is complete. I know we are under insulated in our attic, but we had multiple companies give us estimates and fixing the issue is only projected to save us about $80/year. Our hot water heater is in the garage, but I did cover it with an insulation blanket and wall in the room to help. Our windows are all relatively new. If anyone has any insight I would really appreciate the help.

2. nc73

nc73 Member

Did you even check to see if your heat strips were coming on? Why is it coming on? We also don't know what size your home is, heat pump size, etc etc. Your entering water temperature, leaving temperature, closed loop, closed loop?

3. TuffToodle

TuffToodle New Member