Cycle Stop Valve

Discussion in 'Open Loop' started by ldameron, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ldameron

ldameron New Member

Hello Group:

I am a newbie to this site but in a short time visiting this site I have gained a lot of good information. I thought I would share some information that I have done to make my geo system better. To start I have a 4000 sq ft home, a five ton down and a 3 ton up open loop, 1 well system, I think 20 gpm pump, 80 gal tank.
    I always had a problem with the 3 ton, when running by it self, the pump would cycle on and off every 30 seconds, bad for the pump.

I installed a cycle stop valve that I found on the internet and guess what, the pump does not cycle anymore. When there is more than 1gpm demand the pump stays on.

Now, is this good or bad?? I need some opinions.
    Thanks
    Leonard

2. waterpirate

waterpirate Well-Known Member Industry Professional Forum Leader

cycle stop valves

I will not throw stones
    Eric Sackett
    weberwelldrilling.com

3. Mark Custis

Mark Custis Not soon. Industry Professional Forum Leader

WP

You are correct.

Say hello first.

We have new folks and that is very goooooooooooood

4. waterpirate

Sorry

Hello and Welcome,

I am going to be a nicer person.

5. ldameron

ldameron New Member

Hello waterpirate:

Thanks for your replies. I guess I don't understand. All I know is it seems my whole system is better with cycle stop valve. The pump was cycling on & off every 30 seconds. I've had my well installer to look at it. He really didn't have a good solution other than add a lot of storage tanks or new variable speed pump. Doesn't pump cycling cause the pump to wear out faster and cost more to operate? I have been fighting these issues for 17 years. The cycle stop valve keeps constant pressure in system all the time even when the geotherm are running.
    thanks
    leonard

6. waterpirate

Hi leanord,