South Carolina Correct Valve for FHP

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by avidphotog, Jan 4, 2016.

1. avidphotog

avidphotog New Member

Hello all.

Let me preface all of this by saying that I am a layman and I know very little about plumbing, let alone heat pumps. As I result, I will need both your help and your patience.

I bought a home that has three heating units, one (2-ton) Trane heat pump, and two Florida Heat Pump (FHP) Geothermal systems. I have one 1/2 HP well (with a new pump) that serves both FHP units, and just last week I installed a second well in order to return the water back to the aquifer. The FHP’s were installed at least a decade before I purchased the house, and were most likely installed by the homeowner himself. That is to say that he did not follow protocol with the installation (likewise for the many other electrical and plumbing messes that I’ve been left to clean up). In any event, here is what brings me to the forum:

The installer used irrigation valves to control the water flow to the two FHP units. His configuration does not make any sense to me. Water enters one valve, and then enters two valves in parallel, and finally returns to a single line before it enters the FHP unit. Here's a photo:

IMG_4710.JPG

There are at least 3 problems with this set up:

1. One valve is leaking and now needs to be replaced.

2. I was told by at least one HVAC repair guy that the valve(s) should be on pvc pipes that leave the unit, not the ones that enter. Having it set up as he recommends would allow for water to always be in the system. As it is currently configured, the system is dry between cycles. So the first question is, is this correct? Do the valves need to be switched to the other side?