Confused alien from Northern VA

Discussion in 'Quotes and Proposals' started by Molle, May 14, 2011.

1. Molle

Molle New Member

Hi everyone!

Just pressed the register button, after searching for ages for something like this forum, a non-biased forum for geo :)

I'm from Europe, more exact Sweden, where we have used geoheat for ages, and also have the two largest manufacturers in europe (IVT and NIBE). I used to work as a service rep/coordinator for heatpumps in Sweden for 5 years, and then later with sales of heatpumps. As i moved over here, i started looking for the same type of jobs over here, and soon discovered that the choices was.... well, non-existant to say the least. I'm used to having 50 installers in a region with about 500.000 people, with at least 5 different brands to choose from. Here, i have hard time finding even one...

No, I'm not looking for a job. :)

However, just got this house, in the countryside, where the things in the basement makes me go "what the...."

I'm used to working with radiant heat, floorheat, celsius not fahrenheit, meters not feet, and kW not BTU, and the obsession with air heat makes me shiver, but I do see why, since its getting HOT outside, and the AC unit makes my life bearable. You have to understand, that im used to a heat wave being at about 80 degrees.

I'm my basement, we got this LPG furnace, which when filled, at cold weather sucks 500 bucks of propane in a month (heat and water), and its plain to see that the 15 year old waterheater isnt going to last long.

I, however, need some help.

Where do I find choices of Geothermal brands? I've only manage to find Waterfurnace and ClimateMaster so far.

Where do I find contractors that are EXPERIENCED in installing complete units? I've rummaged the web and only found.... 1 in my area.