Climatemaster has refrigerant leak - fix or replace

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Michael Seifert, Sep 14, 2018.

1. Michael Seifert

Michael Seifert New Member

I have a ClimateMaster Tranquility TMW 060 (5 ton) which I ordered in Dec 2009. It has a refrigerant leak which was not fixed by adding gunk (to hopefully plug the leak). I am being told that the repair for this problem will be very expensive and that replacing the unit is probably a better choice (I have been waiting over 2 weeks for a quote on my different options - hoping that Climatemaster will give me a break on a new unit).

Since time is passing quickly and winter looms, I would love to know what you would do. I have a closed ground loop and the system is a water to water exchange (floor hydronics). I use the system to heat for domestic hot water but not using the internal DHW feature of the Climatemaster (I have a 50 gallon holding tank as part of my hydronic heating system which does a water to water preheat of my domestic hot water).

Some issues I am grappling with:
    • If I replace the unit, should I stick with Climatemaster? If not, what better choices are out there? Obviously my experience with Climatemaster is soured losing my unit in less than 10 years.
    • If I replace an 9 year old unit will my existing loop theoretically have continued longevity and last for many more years. The last thing I need is to install a new unit and then discover a couple years down the road that ground loops have a limited lifespan as well.
    • I of course would love increased efficiency if I am getting a new unit. In the last 10 years, have there been any really significant changes to the technology? What COP can I hope for with current units?
    • Obviously getting the quote will help in the decision process, but I am hesitant to throw thousands at fixing an old unit.